【后悔发邮件了?Gmail增添官方“撤销发送”键】

【后悔发邮件了?Gmail增添官方“撤销发送”工具】邮件点击发送了之后才发现发错了怎么办?谷歌正式推出其实验室中准备已久的“撤销发送”工具,可以让你有后悔的机会。这项功能让用户拥有5、10、20、30秒邮件发送滞后时间,在邮件发送后,邮箱的顶部会显示“取消发送”键,在这段时间内用户点击该键即可避免尴尬发生。

Google has made its 'Undo Send' tool an official and permanent feature nearly six years since it launched as an experiment in Gmail Labs. To enable the feature, Gmail users can click the cog icon from their inbox and choose Settings. From there, they tick the 'Enable Undo Send' box and set the cancellation period (pictured)

Phew! Gmail adds an official 'Undo Send' tool to stop embarrassing emails getting to the wrong people

  • The feature was previously only available in Gmail Labs and the Inbox app
  • Google has now added it to Settings menu of the desktop version of Gmail
  • Once enabled, people can add up to a 30-second delay to sent messages
  • Clicking 'Undo' within the set time prevents the message being delivered

 

If you've ever hit send on an email only to realise you've sent it to the wrong person, you'll know the feeling of dread that hits the pit of your stomach.

But thankfully, for Gmail users at least, there is now a solution to spare any future blushes.

Google has made its 'Undo Send' tool an official and permanent feature nearly six years since it launched as an experiment in Gmail Labs.

To enable the feature, Gmail users can click the cog icon from their inbox and choose Settings.

From there, under the General tab, they tick the 'Enable Undo Send' box and set the cancellation period.

This is currently available for five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds and effectively delays the message being sent for up to half a minute to give users time to change their mind.

And once they have saved the changes, the tool will be enabled for all future messages until it is switched off.

Google added the feature to Gmail Labs - a scheme the firm describes as 'some crazy experimental stuff' - in March 2009.

It was then added to Google's standalone Inbox app, which launched as an invitation only app in October and was rolled out to all Android and iOS users last month.

To use the feature on the desktop, compose an email in the traditional way and hit send.

A pop-up message will appear at the top of the inbox that says: 'Your message has been sent. Undo.'

Clicking Undo stops the message being sent and reopens it in a compose window so users can delete it, change the recipient or amend what has been written.

This works in a similar way on the Inbox app, but instead of appearing at the top of the screen, the Undo option appears in the bottom right-hand corner.

 

The announcement was made in a official blog post: 'Previously a popular feature in Gmail Labs, and recently added to Inbox by Gmail, today we’re adding 'Undo Send' as a formal setting in Gmail on the web.

'Undo Send' allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending.'

It continued that the feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3136131/Phew-Gmail-adds-official-Undo-Send-tool-stop-embarrassing-emails-getting-wrong-people.html


Comments are closed.



无觅相关文章插件